ABCC alleges right of entry breaches by eight CFMMEU officials

The ABCC has commenced proceedings in the Federal Court against the CFMMEU and eight of its officials after they allegedly entered the Toowoomba Second Range Crossing Project unlawfully.

The conduct of the officials resulted in the Queensland Police issuing formal “move on directions” for some entries.

CFMMEU officials Beau Seiffert, Te Aranui Albert, Blake Hynes, Shaun Desmond, Craig Davidson and Justin Steele are alleged to have unlawfully entered the site on several occasions between 30 April 2018 and 2 May 2018. The officials refused to show their federal entry permits when asked to do so.

CFMMEU officials Kurt Pauls and Michael Davis, who do not hold valid entry permits, are alleged to have entered the site in contravention of the Fair Work Act.

The ABCC alleges the conduct in this case contravenes right of entry provisions in the Fair Work Act. The maximum penalty for a breach of the Fair Work Act in this case is $63,000 for bodies corporate and $12,600 for individuals.