On Tuesday 27 March 2018, the Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union (CFMEU), Maritime Union of Australia (MUA), and Textile, Clothing and Footwear Union of Australia (TCFUA) amalgamated. The new organisation is called the Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union (CFMMEU).

A right of entry permit issued under the Fair Work Act to an official of the CFMEU, MUA or TCFUA continues to have effect after the amalgamation even if the permit refers to the former name of any of the three predecessor organisations. The expiry date and any permit conditions are unaffected by the amalgamation.   

Occupiers and employers should not refuse a valid federal right of entry to any CFMMEU official on the basis that their entry permit refers to the CFMEU, MUA or TCFUA.

All rights and responsibilities of permit holders, occupiers, and employers, under the Fair Work Act are unaffected by the amalgamation and change of union name.

For information on the rights and responsibilities of permit holders and employers/occupiers, call the ABCC Hotline on 1800 003 338. There is further information in the right of entry section of the ABCC website.