Committees of Management

Corporate Governance determines how Fair Work Building & Construction (FWBC) exercises its authority and the way in which it will deliver outcomes, initiatives and programs.

In 2013-14, FWBC had in place a number of corporate governance practices to ensure clear lines of accountability and well-defined, effective management of the agency’s performance. These practices were overseen by the Executive Board with support from the following management committees:

  • Audit Committee
  • Health and Safety Committee
  • Contract Management Committee
  • People Committee

FWBC’s corporate governance framework is comprised of the agency’s enabling legislation, the Fair Work (Building Industry) Act 2012 (FWBI Act), other relevant legislative instruments, policies, strategies and managerial procedures and practices.

Executive Board

The Executive Board is the peak decision making body of FWBC. It is comprised of the FWBC Director, Group Managers, Chief Financial Officer, and Executive Directors. Meetings are held monthly and the outcomes are made available to staff through the intranet.

The Executive Board make decisions across all areas of FWBC to ensure that its responsibilities are discharged in a timely and lawful manner.

The Executive Board also oversees:

  • proper financial and prudential management of FWBC;
  • terms of employment of FWBC staff;
  • strategic direction and implementation of strategy; and
  • the delivery of FWBC’s agreed outcomes and key performance indicators.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee provides independent assurance and assistance to the Director and the Executive Board on the agency’s internal audit program, risk management, quality assurance, fraud control framework and its external accountabilities.

The Committee is also responsible for the oversight of the annual financial statements’ preparation, including facilitating resolution of any identified issues in a timely manner.

In January 2014, the joint Fair Work Ombudsman and FWBC Audit Committee was disbanded. A standalone FWBC Audit Committee was established. A new Chair, external to FWBC, was appointed to the committee, as was an external member. An internal member was appointed following a call for expressions of interest within the agency. The first meeting of the Audit Committee was held on 8 April 2014.

The Audit Committee’s responsibilities include:

  • risk management
  • control frameworks
  • external accountability
  • legislative compliance
  • internal audit
  • external audit

Internal audit representatives from Ernst & Young, representatives from the Australian National Audit Office, as well as FWBC’s Chief Financial Officer and Director are invited to attend each audit committee meeting as observers. Other FWBC officers may also be invited by the Chair to attend Audit Committee meetings as required.

Health and Safety Committee

The Health and Safety Committee (HSC) advises the Director and the Executive Board on policy matters concerning the work health and safety (WHS) of staff. It also proactively reviews and reports on the implementation of relevant WHS legislation, policies and practices.

The HSC consists of four management representatives, including the position of Chair, who is appointed by the Director, and four employee representatives elected by staff following a request for expressions of interest. In 2013-14, the HSC met on four occasions. Major achievements for the year include:

  • purchasing defibrillators and providing defibrillator training in all offices;
  • considering safety issues faced by investigators in their work and developing training for investigators to best handle difficult situations;
  • completing the People@Work Project (P@W) and developing strategies to address findings (P@W is a psychosocial risk assessment process aimed at helping agencies identify and manage workplace risk to the psychological health of employees);
  • developing policies to support employees in FWBC workplaces, including a Domestic and Family Violence Support Policy and a Managing and Reporting Unacceptable Behaviour Policy; and
  • promoting the health and wellbeing of employees by supporting national safety awareness initiatives.
Table 3.1 Audit Committee Members As At 30 June 2014
Chair Jon Issacs (External)
Secretariat Tone Doyle
Members Lyn Baker (External) Madeleine Jones (Internal)
Table 3.2 Health and Safety Committee Members As At 30 June 2014
Chair Tim Honey
Secretariat Leanne Harrington
Stephanie Ellis
Julie Meddings
Management representatives Graeme Hogan
Murray Gregor
Elizabeth Hayes
Employee representatives Aman Faiz
Michael Tahan
Morris Holder
Seamus Flynn

People Committee

The People Committee is a forum for progressing staff initiated projects and improvements. Its role is to address and develop people strategies and policies for consideration by the FWBC Executive Board and to provide an arena in which any issues relating to people management within the agency can be discussed.

The People Committee met eight times during 2013-14.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is established by section 23 of the FWBI Act. Its role is to provide recommendations to the FWBC Director regarding:

  • policies to guide the performance of the Director’s functions and the exercise of the Director’s powers;
  • the priorities of, and the programs to be implemented by, the Director; and
  • any matter that the Minister requests the Advisory Board to consider.

During the 2013-14 financial year, the Advisory Board met on two occasions.

In the period of this report no recommendations were made to the Director by the Advisory Board as per section 14(2)(C) of the FWBI Act.

Table 3.3 People Committee Members As At 30 June 2014
Chair Glyn Cryer
Secretariat Stephanie Ellis
Members Chris Aplin
Art Goodsir
Danielle Gordon
Meredith Knight
Brendan Walker-Munro
Table 3.4 Advisory Board Members As At 30 June 2014
Chair the Hon. John Lloyd (Red Tape Commission)
Employer representative Jim Barrett (Formerly of Australian Industry Group)
Employee representative Tim Lyons (Australian Council of Trade Unions)
Representatives Judith Bornstein (Industrial lawyer)
Peter Henneken (Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission)
Natalie James (Fair Work Ombudsman)
Nigel Hadgkiss (FWBC)