Registering and logging in

To register with eRecruit, you must:

  • click on the 'Register' link and follow the prompts
  • enter your details and click on 'Save' and 'Next' (by doing this, you also agree to the privacy policy)
  • enter details to receive alerts for any vacancies that meet your criteria.

As part of the registration process, you’ll be asked to provide details including your name, email address and mobile number. Your email address will become your username and you will also be asked to create a password.

Make sure you select a password that you’ll remember (or ensure that you write it down), because you’ll need it each time you log in to eRecruit.

If you apply for a position with the ABCC, you may receive an email from us regarding your application. This will be sent to the email address you provided.

If you're having trouble logging in, please:

  • ensure that you have spelt your login ID and password correctly
  • remember that your login ID is the email address you registered with.

If you forget your password, click the link at the top of the login page and submit your email address. You will receive an email with a link to reset your password.

Emails and job alerts

System-generated emails are issued from abcc@nga.net.au and include application receipt emails and job alerts.

Job alerts allow you to be notified about employment opportunities that match your preferences. This service allows you to select multiple categories and specify whether you’re interested in vacancies that are ongoing, non-ongoing or both.

If you have set up job alerts but aren't receiving any, you should:

  • log in to eRecruit and click on 'Job alerts'
  • check that you’ve set your frequency to 'daily' so that you’re notified of new vacancies right away
  • confirm that your profile matches any current vacancies by clicking 'View job matching my alert profile' at the top of the page.

If you make any changes to your profile, remember to click 'Save' at the bottom of the page.

Completing the application

Select the job you want to apply for from the online job board [External Link] and click on the 'Start new application' link under the 'Action' heading.

You can preview the application form by clicking on the 'Preview application form' link under the 'Action' heading.

Depending on what role you’re applying for, the application form may ask you to provide a written statement(s) with a specified word limit. It's best to prepare and save your statement(s) in a separate document before copying and pasting the text into eRecruit. When pasting in more than one response make sure you save the application regularly.

If you exceed the word limit, you’ll get a warning message and won’t be able to submit your application. Please note that the word count in Microsoft Word may give you a different word count to eRecruit, especially if you are using bullet points or symbols.

As part of the application, you may be asked to upload a resume. To do this, click on the 'Browse' button on the application form and select the document you want to upload. If you want to make changes to your resume after you upload it, update your resume outside of eRecruit and save the new version. Uploading the new version will replace any previous resumes that were uploaded.

Some mobile devices, like those made by Apple, will not allow you to search their file system for documents like your resume. If you can’t upload a file on your device, we recommend that you use a desktop or laptop computer instead.

You can save and exit your application and return to it at a later time, provided the job application hasn't closed. To access your application, you must:

  • log in to eRecruit
  • go to 'My profile'
  • select 'My job applications'
  • select the application you want to return to.

eRecruit uses SSL V3 encryption, which means the information you provide is secure.

Submitting your application

To submit your application, you must:

  • click the 'Submit Application' button at the top of the 'Preview and Submit' page
  • confirm that you're ready to submit it.

If you've completed your application but can't see the 'Submit Application' button at the top of the page, make sure you've answered all the compulsory questions and clicked 'Save and Continue' for each page of the application form.

Once you've submitted your application, the system will send you a confirmation email. You can also check that it's been submitted by going into 'My Profile'. If successful, the application status will have changed to 'submitted'.

Be sure to submit your application on time. Requests to submit a late application will only be accepted in exceptional circumstances and will be assessed on an individual basis.

If you’re unable to submit your application by the closing date and time, please phone the contact officer listed in the candidate information kit to seek approval to submit a late application. You’ll still need to submit your application using eRecruit.

Withdrawing your application

If you no longer wish to be considered for a position, you can withdraw your application at any time.

To withdraw your application, you must:

  • go to 'My Profile' and click on 'View my application summary'
  • click the 'Withdraw Application' button at the top of the application summary page
  • confirm your withdrawal on the next page and provide the reason why you are withdrawing.

Once you’ve withdrawn your application, you will receive confirmation via email. It will also appear in your eRecruit profile history.

If you start an application but don’t submit it, you don't need to withdraw it. An incomplete application will not be considered.

Please note that you cannot withdraw an application and then reapply for the same position. To make changes to an application you have already submitted, please phone the contact officer for assistance (their number will be provided in the candidate information kit).

Accessing previous applications

You can access previous applications you've submitted by using the 'My Profile' function once you’ve logged in.

This allows you to copy previous responses for use within a new application. Your history will never expire, so each application will be there indefinitely.

From here, you can also find details of the relevant contact officer in the candidate information kit for any jobs that have closed. You can do this for any job you’ve started an application for. To do so, please follow these steps:

  • Click 'View my application summary' for the job.
  • Click on the link at the top of your application summary to access the job details.
  • Open the candidate information kit and locate the contact officer's details.

Technical difficulties

If you're having trouble applying or submitting online, you should phone the contact officer listed in the candidate information kit. They can answer your questions and help to determine an appropriate way for you to submit your application.

As with all internet-based applications, the speed of page loads varies. You should be able to submit your application during a busy period, but be aware that pages may take a little longer to load.

If you’re unable to submit your application due to the speed of your internet connection, please advise the contact officer listed in the candidate information kit before the closing time.

If the page times out while you are completing your application, you can check whether it has been saved by following these steps:

  • Log out of the system and log back in.
  • Go to 'My Profile' and select 'Access existing application' for the position you are applying for.
  • You can then view at what point your application has been saved.